Centre d’Élaboration de Matériaux et d’Etudes Structurales


Home > Research > NeO: Nano-Optics and Nanomaterials for Optics > Nano-Optics & Plasmonics

Nano-Optics & Plasmonics

Dielectric Nano-antennas

JPEG - 8.4 kb

High refractive index dielectric nanostructures have original optical properties related to the presence of optical resonances which depend on their shape and dimensions. These nano-objects are increasingly studied as alternatives to plasmonic nanostructures to enhance and control light-matter interaction at the subwavelength scale.

Read more

Quantum Plasmonics and NanoOptics

PNG - 18.7 kb

Quantum Plasmonics & NanoOptics aim at transposing at 2D the concepts of Quantum Optics by replacing a high-Q cavity mode by a plasmon polariton sustained by a metallic nanostructure or by a photonic mode in a dielectric nanocavity with appropriate geometry.

Read more

Theory of Complex Nano-optical Systems

JPEG - 10 kb

As part of our research work related to nano-optics and nano-photonics, we have developed new concepts and theories together with flexible and reliable numerical codes to describe the complex architectures associated with our current experimental measurements. Among several challenging theoretical objectives related to our activity, we will mention the general theory of Green dyadic functions for electrodynamics computations (field mapping, LDOS, heat dissipation and temperature, far-field and EELS spectra) together with numerical tools for describing plasmon-molecules interactions in the near-field (decay rate, molecule emission pattern, and Maxwell-Bloch equations).

Read more

Thermoplasmonics

PNG - 37.7 kb

Ohmic losses in plasmonic structures have always been considered as a major drawback for long-range propagation and the realization of efficient devices. Yet the possibility to control the rise of temperature with illumination parameters (wavelength, polarization) has fostered a strong interest in the NanoOptics community. This active research field, called thermoplasmonics, could potentially lead to breakthroughs in several fields like nanomedicine, nanochemistry or thermo-hydrodynamically assisted plasmonic trapping and manipulation.

Read more

STM & photons

JPEG - 7 kb

When the metallic tip of a scanning tunneling microscope (STM) is biased with a few volts and scans the conductive surface of a metallic or semiconductor sample, an STM-induced luminescence can be excited and observed.

This activity is developped in collaboration with the GNS and SINanO groups.

Read more

Hybrid Plasmonics

JPEG - 19.5 kb

Coupled to other elementary excitations, such as phonons and excitons, the surface plasmons open new ways in terms of spatial and spectral control of the local electromagnetic field. Indeed, new hybrid plasphonics and plexitonics excitations come out when the optical resonances are fine tuned to form mixed optical states.

Read more

Plasmo-electronics

JPEG - 16.3 kb

Owing to their ability to absorb the light and convert it into electron-hole pairs, within few tens of femto-seconds, the surface plasmons act as efficient electromagnetic-to-electric energy converters.

Read more

Centre d’Élaboration de Matériaux et d’Etudes Structurales (UPR 8011)


Accueil > Recherche > NeO : Nano-Optique et Nanomatériaux pour l’Optique > Nano-Optique & Plasmonique

Nano-Optique & Plasmonique

Nano-antennes Diélectriques

JPEG - 8.4 ko

Les nanostructures diélectriques à fort indice de réfraction présentent des propriétés optiques originales liées à la présence de résonances optiques dépendantes de leur forme et dimensions. Elles sont de plus en plus étudiées comme des alternatives aux nanostructures plasmoniques pour exalter et contrôler l’interaction lumière-matière à l’échelle sub-longueur d’onde.

Lire la suite

Plasmonique & Nanophotonique Quantique

JPEG - 5.5 ko

La Plasmonique & Nanophotonique Quantique vise à transposer à 2D certains concepts d’optique quantique en remplaçant le mode de cavité habituel par un mode plasmon supporté par une nanostructure métallique ou par un mode photonique dans une structure diélectrique à la géométrie appropriée.

Lire la suite

Théorie des Systèmes Nano-optiques Complexes

JPEG - 10 ko

Dans le cadre de nos recherches dans les domaines de la nano-optique et de la nano-photonique, nous avons développé des concepts nouveaux, des théories adaptées ainsi que des codes numériques flexibles et fiables afin de décrire les architectures complexes associées à nos mesures expérimentales actuelles. Parmi les différents objectifs théoriques liés à notre activité, nous pouvons mentionner la théorie générale des fonctions de Green Dyadiques pour les calculs électromagnétiques (cartographie de champs, LDOS photonique et plasmonique, dissipation de chaleur et accroissement de température, spectres champ lointain et de EELS) ainsi que des outils numériques permettant de décrire les interactions plasmon-molécules dans le champ proche (taux de désexcitation, signaux d’émission d’une molécule, équations de Maxwell-Bloch).

Lire la suite

Thermoplasmonique

JPEG - 7.9 ko

Les pertes Ohmiques dans les structures plasmoniques ont toujours été considérées comme un défaut majeur pour la propagation longue distance et la mise au point de dispositifs efficaces. Cependant, la possibilité de contrôler l’augmentation de température grâce aux paramètres d’illumination (longueur d’onde, polarisation) a déclenché un fort intérêt dans la communauté de la NanoOptique. Ce domaine de recherche, la thermoplasmonique, pourrait potentiellement mener à des percer dans différents domaines comme la nanomédecine, la nanochimie, ou la manipulation et le piégeage optique assistés thermiquement.

Lire la suite

Emission de photons induite par STM

JPEG - 7 ko

En positionnant une pointe métallique de microscope à effet tunnel (STM) à quelques angströms de la surface d’un échantillon métallique ou semiconducteur, il est possible de mettre en évidence, sous certaines conditions de tension de polarisation, une émission de photons engendrée par la jonction tunnel polarisée.

Cette activité est développée en collaboration avec le groupe GNS.

Lire la suite

Plasmonique hybride

JPEG - 19.5 ko

Couplés a d’autres excitations élémentaires (phonons, excitons), les plasmons de surface ouvrent de nouvelles possibilités en termes de contrôle spectral et spatial de la réponse optique et d’exaltation du champ électromagnétique local. En effet, de nouvelles excitation hybrides plasphoniques ou plexcitoniques apparaissent dès lors que les énergies des excitations mises en jeu sont judicieusement choisies (résonances).

Lire la suite

Plasmo-électronique

JPEG - 16.3 ko

De par leur capacité à capter efficacement la lumière et à la convertir en paires électrons-trous, en quelques dizaines de femtosecondes, les plasmons de surface agissent comme des convertisseurs de l’énergie électromagnétique en énergie électrique.

Lire la suite