Centre d’Élaboration de Matériaux et d’Etudes Structurales


Home > Research > NeO: Nano-Optics and Nanomaterials for Optics > Nanoparticles embedded in Dielectrics - Ion Beam Synthesis

Nanoparticles embedded in Dielectrics - Ion Beam Synthesis

A specificity of the NeO group lies in the design by ion implantation at low energy through micrometric masks of model systems formed of a 2D arrays of small nanoparticles (metallic or semiconducting).

The nanoparticles are located a few nm from the free surface of a dielectric matrix (silica or silicon nitride). The matrix protects nanoparticles from aging as well as possible dissemination. It maintains the flatness of the surface, on which we can deposit the objects of interest that we want to study the coupling with the embedded nanoparticles.

Different architectures have been synthesised in the laboratory, involving either Ag nanoparticles (AgNPs), which are used for their plasmonic properties and whose toxicity has also been studied, or, more recently, Si nanoparticles (SiNPs).

Coupling of the Ag nanoparticles with graphene

PNG - 93 kb

The twofold role of a single plane of AgNPs as embedded plasmonic enhancer and charge carrier reservoir has been demonstrated on few-layer graphene located in dedicated areas at a controlled nanometer distance from the AgNPs.

Read more

Coupling the AgNPs with light emitters

PNG - 60.1 kb

The AgNPs were also coupled to light emitters (Si nanocrystals) co-implanted in the same matrix, leading to an exaltation of their photoluminescence.

Read more

Study of the toxicity of embedded AgNPs on green algae

PNG - 49.1 kb

The biocide activity and toxicity of AgNPs embedded in silica was evaluated using an original method based on the degradation of photosynthesis of a green alga

Read more

Doped Si nanocrystals for plasmonics

PNG - 41.5 kb

The discovery of localized surface plasmon resonances (LSPR) in doped semiconductor nanocrystals (NCs) has opened a new field in plasmonics. Hence, doped semiconductor nanoparticles can also be the seat of surface plasmon resonances in the infra-red range, whose frequency can be adjusted with the doping rate. Hence SiNPs embedded in silica matrices could advantageously replace metallic NPs, for an alternative “metal free” plasmonic, " and covering a new frequency domain.

Read more

Publications

Theory of plasmonic properties of hyper-doped silicon nanostructures, C Majorel, V Paillard, A Patoux, PR Wiecha, A Cuche, A Arbouet, C. Bonafos and C. Girard, Optics Communications 453, 124336 (...)

Read more

Centre d’Élaboration de Matériaux et d’Etudes Structurales (UPR 8011)


Accueil > Recherche > NeO : Nano-Optique et Nanomatériaux pour l’Optique > Nanoparticules dans les Diélectriques - Synthèse Ionique

Nanoparticules dans les Diélectriques - Synthèse Ionique

Une spécificité du groupe NeO réside dans la fabrication par implantation ionique à basse énergie à travers des masques micrométriques de systèmes modèles formés d’un réseau 2D de petites nanoparticules (métalliques ou semiconductrices).

Les nanoparticules sont localisées à quelques nm de la surface libre d’une matrice diélectrique en silice ou en nitrure de silicium. La matrice protège les nanoparticules du vieillissement ainsi que d’une éventuelle dissémination. Elle maintient la planéité de la surface, sur laquelle on peut déposer à volonté les objets d’intérêt dont on veut étudier le couplage avec les nanoparticules enterrées.

Différentes architectures ont été réalisées au laboratoire, mettant en jeu soit des nanoparticules d’Ag (AgNPs), utilisées pour leurs propriétés plasmoniques et dont on a aussi étudié la toxicité, soit, plus récemment des nanoparticules de Si (SiNPs).

Couplage des nanoparticules d’Ag avec un feuillet de graphene

PNG - 93 ko

Une exaltation de la diffusion Raman de surface a été obtenue sur un feuillet de graphène, mettant en évidence des effets de couplage électromagnétique et un transfert de charge des nanoparticules vers le graphène.

Lire la suite

Couplage des réseaux 3D d’AgNPs avec des émetteurs de lumière

PNG - 60.1 ko

Ces AgNPs ont aussi été couplées à des émetteurs de lumière (nanoparticules de Si) co-implantés dans la même matrice, conduisant à une exaltation de leur photoluminescence.

Lire la suite

Etude de la toxicité des AgNPs enrobées sur des algues vertes

PNG - 49.1 ko

L’activité biocide et la toxicité des AgNPs enrobées dans la silice ont été évaluées en utilisant une méthode originale basée sur la dégradation de la photosynthèse d’une algue verte.

Lire la suite

Nanoparticules de Si dopées pour la plasmonique

PNG - 41.5 ko

Les nanoparticules semiconductrices dopées peuvent être aussi le siège de résonances plasmon de surface, dans l’infra-rouge et non plus dans le visible, dont on peut ajuster la fréquence avec le taux de dopage. En particulier les NPs de Si (SiNPs) dopées et enrobées dans des matrices de silice, pourraient remplacer avantageusement les NPs métalliques, pour une plasmonique alternative, « sans métaux » et couvrant un nouveau domaine de fréquence.

Lire la suite

Publications

Theory of plasmonic properties of hyper-doped silicon nanostructures, C Majorel, V Paillard, A Patoux, PR Wiecha, A Cuche, A Arbouet, C. Bonafos and C. Girard, Optics Communications 453, 124336 (...)

Lire la suite